top of page

   Born in April 1990 in Reims, France, from a French mother and a Lebanese father, I discovered a passion for photography and travel around the age of twenty. Since then, I’ve spent almost three years of my life travelling with my camera as my only companion. Forty countries crossed, thousands of kilometers wandered around the world, from the snow-capped peaks of Nepal to the burning beaches of Ghana, from the banks of the Amazon in Peru to those of the Ganges in India, passing by the skyscrapers of New York, the Corcovado of Rio de Janeiro or even the steppes of Mongolia. During all these trips, I tried through my camera to capture, in 1/125th of a second, moments of life, emotions and then to transmit them into images, always placing the human at the center of my pictures. It was not a question of taking a picture of what I wanted to show, but rather of capturing what I saw.

 

   It was in August 2010 during my first trip, a one-month train journey through Europe, that I tasted for the first time the total freedom that travel provides, of discovering new places, new cultures, but also of discovering yourself, because it is obvious that all of these journeys changed me, each in their own way, and made me who I am today. It was also during this trip that this desire grew inside of me, to show that, if countries have borders and even if the skin color or the culture sometimes changes, the emotions themselves, very often, remain the same. In every country the sunlight, in every country the carefree childhood, the wisdom of old age or the beauty of love.

 

   In October 2016, I started a journey of a little more than one year and over 42 000 km, from Kathmandu in Nepal to Paris in France, hitting the road through countries, cities and cultures. That adventure will soon be the subject of a book in which I will retrace my journey in images, from the first day to the last. In November 2018, it was in South America and more precisely in Colombia that I started a new trip, which took me, 397 days of travel and more than 40 000 km later, to the foot of the Corcovado of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil. A trip through the South American continent during which I immersed myself in a Latin culture that has not left me since.

   In August 2020, following the explosion of the Beirut port, I decided to settle in Lebanon and to testify, through my photos, the daily life of this country plunged into the midst of a humanitarian, political and economic crisis. A testimony that gave birth to my first photography book "Beirut, from ashes to anger, a story of Lebanon" released in June 2021. It is also from this country that I started working as a photojournalist and made my first photo reports for various media, both local or foreign. This work as a photojournalist also took me to Afghanistan where I went in November 2021 with journalist Inès Gil to report about the situation of the country after the return to power of the Taliban. Still based in Beirut to this day, I continue to tell Lebanon through my photos and also prepare projects that will take me back again to the four corners of the world.

 

   Today, through this website, I want to share with you a piece of my travels in pictures. My photos don’t claim to be beautiful. They show the truth, the everyday life, the life of people who are so distantly far away but yet so emotionally close to each other. Here you will find stories hidden behind every picture and lives hidden behind every pair of eyes. But above all you will find a large part of them, of all of these people who live every day in the four corners of the world. These photos were taken depending on the wind, depending on my life story, my travels and my meetings, at the corner of a street or in the middle of nowhere. For every moment that I found beautiful, sad, full of joy, or just natural, I pressed the shutter button of my camera. I tried to capture the beauty of the world, but also the beauty of the people who inhabit it. 

 

   So I hope that through these photos you will find a little of all this, of all these little things that make life. I do not pretend to be an artist, I just had the chance to see and live beautiful moments. I just want to show them to you.

Florient Zwein

IMG_4519.JPG

"It is part of the photographer's job to see more intensely than most people do.

He must have and keep in him something of the receptiveness of the child

who looks at the world for the first time

or of the traveler who enters

a strange country"

 

Bill Brandt

Florient Zwein | Photographer | Paris - France | +33630111188 | florient.zwein@hotmail.fr | 2020

bottom of page

Né en Avril 1990, d’une mère française et d’un père libanais, originaire de Reims en France mais vivant désormais à Paris, je me suis découvert une passion pour la photographie et le voyage vers l'âge de mes 20 ans. Depuis ce jour, ce sont presque 3 ans de ma vie que j’ai passé à voyager avec comme seul compagnon mon appareil photo. Une quarantaine de pays traversés, des milliers de kilomètres parcourus à travers le monde, des sommets enneigés du Népal aux plages brûlantes du Ghana, des rives de l'Amazone au Pérou à celles du Gange en Inde en passant par les gratte- ciel de New York, le Corcovado de Rio de Janeiro ou bien encore les steppes de Mongolie. Au cours de tous ces voyages, j'ai tenté à travers mon appareil photo de capturer, en un 125ème de seconde, des moments de vie, des émotions et de les transmettre ensuite en images, en plaçant l'humain toujours au centre de mes clichés. Il ne s'agissait pas de prendre en photo ce que je voulais montrer, mais plutôt de capturer ce que je voyais.

 

   C'est en Août 2010 et lors de mon premier voyage, un périple d'un mois en train à travers l'Europe, que j'ai goûté pour la première fois à la liberté totale que procure le voyage, à cette découverte de nouveaux horizons, de nouvelles cultures, mais aussi à la découverte de soi, car il est évident que tous ces voyages m'ont changé chacun à leur manière et ont fait de moi celui que je suis aujourd'hui. C'est également lors de ce périple européen qu'est né en moi cette envie de montrer que, si les pays ont bien des frontières et que si parfois la couleur de la peau ou la culture change, les émotions elles, restent bien souvent les mêmes. Dans chaque pays, il y a la lumière du soleil, l’insouciance de l’enfance, la sagesse de la vieillesse ou bien encore la beauté de l’amour.

   

   En Octobre 2016, j'ai entrepris un périple d'un peu plus d’un an et d’environ 42 000 kilomètres, de Kathmandou au Népal à Paris en France, traçant ma route à travers les pays, les villes et les cultures. Ce voyage fera bientôt l'objet d'un livre dans lequel je raconterai en images ce voyage, jour après jour, du premier jusqu'au dernier. En Novembre 2018, c'est en Amérique du Sud et plus précisément à partir de la Colombie que je suis parti pour un nouveau périple qui m’a conduit, 397 jours et plus de 41 000 kilomètres plus tard, jusqu'au pied du Corcovado à Rio de Janeiro au Brésil. Un voyage dans le continent sud-américain durant lequel je me suis imprégné d'une culture latine qui ne m'a pas quitté depuis.

 

   Aujourd'hui, à travers ce site, je souhaite vous faire partager en images un peu de mes voyages. Mes photos n’ont pas la prétention d’être prises pour être belles. Elles montrent la vérité, la vie de tous les jours, la vie de personnes ô combien éloignées par la distance mais pourtant si proches par les émotions. Vous trouverez ici des histoires cachées derrière chacune de mes photos et des vies cachées derrière chacun des regards croisés. Mais vous trouverez surtout une grande partie de toutes ces personnes qui vivent au quotidien aux quatre coins du monde. Ces photos ont été prises au gré du vent, au gré de mon histoire, de mes voyages et de mes rencontres, au coin d'une rue ou au milieu de nulle part. À chaque instant que je trouvais beau, triste, plein de joie, ou tout simplement naturel, j’appuyais sur le déclencheur de mon appareil photo, essayant de capturer la beauté du monde même dans ces endroits les plus tristes, mais aussi et surtout la beauté des gens qui le peuplent.

 

   J’espère alors qu’à travers ces photos vous y trouverez un peu de tout cela, de toutes ces petites choses qui font la vie. Je n’ai pas la prétention d’être un artiste, j'ai simplement eu la chance de voir et de vivre de belles émotions. Je veux juste vous les montrer.

Florient Zwein

"Cela fait partie du travail du photographe de voir plus intensément que la plupart des gens.

Il doit avoir et garder en lui quelque chose de la réceptivité de l’enfant

qui regarde le monde pour la première fois

ou du voyageur qui pénètre

dans un pays étranger"

 

Bill Brandt

Florient Zwein | Photographe | Paris - France | +33630111188 | florient.zwein@hotmail.fr | 2020