top of page

Shaolin students of the Fawang temple, 

a sweaty childhood

20170821-Day 224.jpg

Introduction 


At the heart of the Henan province in China, at the foot of Song Mountain, one of the five sacred mountains of Taoism, stands a temple more than 1900 years old, the Fawang temple. Within it are more than a hundred Shaolin students, the majority of whom learn and practice Kung-Fu from a very young age. A special childhood made up of rigor and discipline, sweat and suffering, screams and laughter.    

IMG_0716.JPG
IMG_0719.JPG

I / The awakening

5:30 a.m. It's dark. The sun is just rising on the sacred Song Mountain. The first gleams of the day barely light its summit when at its foot a small world is already very gently waking up. For Shaolin students from the Fawang temple, the day begins with the sound of the whistle. Step by step they wake up and one by one they get out of bed. Their eyes might be silent but the fatigue can be seen in their eyes. However a Shaolin student does not complain, and their pain is mental. Children know this because they have been told so since childhood. The suffering remains internal. Then the same gestures are repeated every morning, a ritual that each of them has performed hundreds of times. The pants, then the socks. The sneakers then the jacket. The student is ready for his day. The next time he will go to bed for the night, it will be dark again. Until then, the student already knows it, he will suffer, between screams and sweats.

IMG_0623.JPG
IMG_0724.JPG
IMG_1474.JPG

II / The beginning

 

It all starts with the first call. Each student then joins his group at the first whistle of his Shifu, the Kung Fu master teaching this art. Lined up side by side in three rows, from the smallest to the tallest. The right arm is stretched to mark the distance with the neighbor, then one by one they are counted while standing at attention. A few words from the Shifu, a disciplined and respectful greeting, then the children begin their first exercise. Every training begins with a short race to warm up the blood and wake up the muscles, there is no shortage of forest paths around the temple. On the way back, the first drops of sweat have already flowed, but this is only the beginning. A few stretches and off we go again. 

IMG_2391.JPG
IMG_1895.JPG

III / The first screams 

The day generally begins with relatively simple physical exercises: stretching, posture practicing, punches, leg lifts, splits, jump kicks and sequences called Ji Ben Gong. These are basic exercises, repeated over and over again to facilitate a sensory integration adapted to each and everyone. From these Ji Ben Gong, the sequences of movements or Taos take on their full meaning and therefore become controlled, full and living gestures. Taos are performed individually or in groups, with or without weapons. 

IMG_0276.JPG
IMG_0858.JPG
IMG_2394.JPG

IV / The first meal 

Then comes the time for the students to eat their first meal of the day, a breakfast, most of the time made of vegetables and noodles. The student regains some strength before continuing with his day. After each meal, the children must clean their bowls and their chopsticks themselves. No staff here for the dishes, laundry or cleaning. They learn about community life from a very young age, based on values of respect, sharing and mutual assistance. Much more than just being taught a martial art, here they are taught a way of life.

IMG_1350.JPG
IMG_1314.JPG
IMG_0407.JPG

V / The 68th step 

The student knows those 67 steps by heart. He went up and down hundreds of times, to go to the shower, to the dormitory and for various other reasons. But on this morning he will have to fight them both physically and mentally. First run them up and down again. Then two steps by two steps, even three for some. Then by bunny hops, two by two, even three by three for the more adventurous. The first cries of the children going up and down break the morning calm of the temple. But those are not cries of suffering, a Shaolin student does not suffer. Some will then have the chance to climb the steps without getting tired, it is easier when they are carried on another’s shoulders. The porter carries in silence. Exercises after exercises, the students keep going up and down the stairs tirelessly. The only short break is beyond the 67th step, the one which does not go up any further, the one synonymous with a short break, while waiting to go down again. This march is the 68th. But the rest is only very brief and the Shifu is never far away.

IMG_1575.JPG
IMG_1569.JPG
IMG_2393.JPG

VI / The bowl 

 

Of all the whistles of the day, this one is by far the most appreciated and most awaited of all: the lunch whistle. One by one, each student picks up his small bowl and his chopsticks and then joins his group. A new call, then group after group they go fill their bowls with well-deserved food. The service is provided by the children themselves and the food does not vary very often. Noodles, vegetables, rice, a piece of bread, sometimes a fruit at the end.

IMG_1335.JPG
IMG_1300.JPG
IMG_1341.JPG
IMG_1324.JPG

VII / A silence between two screams 

The lunch break, for the children, is also the time for resting since the training will not resume before 3.30 p.m. A whistle blows and the temple regains its soothing calm, for only a few hours. It all starts with a nap which, for the majority of the students, will last as long as possible. For others it is also the time to relax after the nap by reading, playing cards or table tennis. Some do the laundry while in the kitchen the evening meal is already being cooked.

iT Hot OHi.JPG
IMG_2392.JPG
IMG_2129.JPG
70 06 8 4.JPG
IMG_9978.JPG
IMG_1723.JPG
IMG_2123.JPG
IMG_0998.JPG

VIII / The resumption 

 

A whistle blows and the temple regains all its excitement. A short run later and the students are ready again. This afternoon: training on how to handle the stick. The student also knows it by heart, his stick is his best friend. He knows how to make it speak and make it dance. Its dance is called the Tao, which means a set of choreographed gestures that each student must know by heart. There are hundreds of gestures in each area that the child must know and master by heart if he ever wants to become a Shifu. It is said that perfection can only be achieved by repetition, so the child repeats the same gestures over and over again, constantly, until these gestures are mastered to perfection. Power is nothing without mastering. Because that is what it is all about in the teaching of this martial art: the mastery of power. 

IMG_1260.JPG
IMG_0652.JPG
IMG_0734.JPG
IMG_2881.JPG

IX / The last effort 

 

The sun starts to set. The day is almost coming to an end. The children take their evening meal and then perform their last training session of the day: lifting tires for some, acrobatic and physical exercises for others. The burning sunlight moves on to the whiteness of the temple lampposts. Color changes, but the scenery stays the same, and the drops of sweat always taste the same. 

IMG_0882.JPG
IMG_2730.JPG
IMG_1398.JPG

X / An eternal restart 

9:30 p.m. It's dark. Night falls again on the Fawang temple, calm will take over for the night. The whistle blows for the last time of the day. A last call, a last greeting and one by one the young students join their dormitories. Nights are short here and days are long. They are made of suffering and sweating, but also of laughter and smiles. Their days are very different from those of many other children around the world, but they are nonetheless happy. Their days are not all made of suffering and sweating. Students never train on Wednesday and Saturday afternoons. On these days, children are even entitled to the screening of a film. As for Sunday, it is a day of resting from dawn to dusk. On September, school education resumes. It is certainly not as elaborate and efficient as the one of public schools and even less of private schools but it will still allow children to get a job later. Some will end up in the military, police or private security companies, others in more ordinary jobs. As for the most daring, they will in turn become Shifu and will perpetuate this ancestral and traditional art for future generations. 

 

Meanwhile, with a tired body, the student finds his bed. He closes his eyes and falls asleep in silence. Just like for many children around the world, it is by closing his eyes that the most beautiful dreams come to true. So for one night, he escapes a little. The child falls asleep and the temple with him. Tomorrow will be another day, not so different from the previous one.

IMG_0249.JPG
IMG_1454.JPG
IMG_0236.JPG
IMG_2240.JPG

Florient Zwein | Photographer | Paris - France | +33630111188 | florient.zwein@hotmail.fr | 2020

bottom of page

Les élèves Shaolin du temple Fawang, 

une enfance au goût de sueur

20170821-Day 224.jpg

Introduction 

Au cœur de la province du Henan en Chine, au pied de la montagne Song, une des cinq montagnes sacrées du taoïsme, se dresse un temple vieux de plus de 1900 ans, le temple Fawang. En son sein se trouve plus d'une centaine d'élèves Shaolin qui apprennent et pratiquent le Kung-Fu depuis leur plus jeune âge pour la plupart. Une enfance particulière faite de rigueur et de discipline, de sueur et de souffrance, de cris et de rires.   

IMG_0716.JPG
IMG_0719.JPG

I/ Le réveil

 

5h30. Il fait noir. Le soleil se lève tout juste sur la montagne sacrée Song. Les premières lueurs du jour bercent à peine son sommet qu'à son pied déjà un petit monde s'agite tout doucement. Pour les élèves Shaolin du temple Fawang, la journée commence au son du sifflet. Petit à petit ils émergent de leur sommeil et un à un ils sortent de leur lit. Le regard silencieux, la fatigue est cependant perceptible dans leurs yeux, mais un élève Shaolin ne se plaint pas, la douleur est mentale. L'enfant le sait car on le lui répète depuis sa plus petite enfance. La souffrance est intérieure. Ensuite, les mêmes gestes sont répétés chaque matin, un rituel que chacun a réalisé des centaines de fois. Le pantalon, puis les chaussettes. Les baskets puis la veste. L'élève est prêt pour sa journée. La prochaine fois qu'il rejoindra son lit pour y passer la nuit, il fera toujours noir. D'ici là, l'élève le sait déjà, il va souffrir, entre cris et sueurs.

IMG_0623.JPG
IMG_0724.JPG
IMG_1474.JPG

II / Le commencement 

 

Tout commence par le premier appel. Chaque élève rejoint alors son groupe au premier coup de sifflet de son Shifu, maître de Kung Fu enseignant cet art. Alignés côte à côte sur trois rangées, du plus petit au plus grand. Le bras droit se tend pour marquer la distance avec son voisin, puis un à un ils se comptent en se mettant au garde à vous. Quelques mots brefs de la part du Shifu, un salut discipliné et respectueux puis les enfants entament leur premier exercice. Tout entraînement commence par une petite course pour réchauffer le sang et réveiller les muscles, ce ne sont pas les petits chemins de forêt qui manquent autour du temple. Au retour, les premières gouttes de sueur ont déjà bien coulé mais ce n'est que le début. Quelques étirements et c'est reparti.

IMG_2391.JPG
IMG_1895.JPG

III/ Les premiers cris 

 

La journée commence en général par des exercices physiques relativement simples : Des étirements, travail des positions, coups de poing, levé de jambes, grand écart, les coups de pieds sautés et les enchainements appelés Ji Ben Gong. Ces derniers sont des exercices de base fondamentaux, répétés en boucle nombre de fois pour faciliter une intégration sensorielle adaptée à chacun. A partir de ces Ji Ben Gong, les enchaînements de mouvements ou Tao prennent tout leur sens et deviennent dès lors des gestes maîtrisés, remplis et vivants. Les Taos sont travaillés individuellement ou en groupe, avec ou sans armes.

IMG_0276.JPG
IMG_0858.JPG
IMG_2394.JPG

IV/ Le premier repas 

Puis vient l'heure pour les élèves de prendre leur premier repas de la journée, un petit déjeuner fait de légumes et de nouilles la plupart du temps. L'élève reprend quelques forces avant de poursuivre sa journée. Après chaque repas, les enfants doivent nettoyer eux-mêmes leur gamelle et leurs baguettes. Ici pas de personnel pour la plonge, les lessives ou bien le ménage. Ils apprennent dès leur plus jeune âge la vie en communauté, basée sur des valeurs de respect, de partage et d'entraide. Bien plus qu'un simple enseignement d'art martial, ici on enseigne un mode de vie.

IMG_1350.JPG
IMG_1314.JPG
IMG_0407.JPG

V/ La 68ème marche 

 

L'élève les connaît par cœur, ces 67 marches. Il les a montées et descendues des centaines de fois, pour aller à la douche, au dortoir et pour d'autres raisons diverses et variées. Mais ce matin il va devoir les combattre physiquement et mentalement. D'abord les monter en courant puis les redescendre. Puis deux marches par deux marches, voire trois pour certains. Ensuite à pieds joints, deux par deux, voire trois par trois pour les plus téméraires. Les premiers cris des enfants qui montent et qui descendent viennent casser le calme matinal du temple. Mais pas de cris de souffrance, un élève Shaolin ne souffre pas. Certains auront la chance ensuite de monter les marches sans se fatiguer, c'est plus facile lorsque l'on est porté sur les épaules d'un autre. Le porteur lui, porte en silence. Exercices après exercices, les élèves continuent de monter et descendre les escaliers sans relâche. Le seul petit moment de répit se trouve au-delà de la 67ème marche, celle qui ne monte plus, celle synonyme d'un court moment de répit, en attendant de redescendre. Cette marche c’est la 68ème. Mais le repos n'est que très bref et le Shifu n'est jamais très loin.

IMG_1575.JPG
IMG_1569.JPG
IMG_2393.JPG

VI/ La gamelle  

 

De tous les sifflets de la journée, celui-ci est de loin le plus apprécié et le plus attendu de tous : le sifflet du déjeuner. Un à un, chaque élève va chercher sa petite gamelle et ses baguettes puis rejoint son groupe. Un nouvel appel puis groupe après groupe, ils vont remplir leur gamelle d'une nourriture bien méritée. Le service est assuré par les enfants eux-mêmes et la nourriture ne varie pas très souvent. Nouilles, légumes, riz, un morceau de pain, parfois un fruit pour finir. 

IMG_1335.JPG
IMG_1300.JPG
IMG_1341.JPG
IMG_1324.JPG

VII/ Un silence entre deux cris 

 

La pause déjeuner c'est aussi le moment pour les enfants de pouvoir se reposer, les entraînements ne reprendront pas avant 15h30. Un coup de sifflet et le temple retrouve son calme apaisant, pour quelques heures seulement. Tout commence par une sieste qui pour la plupart durera le plus longtemps possible. Pour d'autres c'est aussi le moment de se détendre ensuite en lisant, en jouant aux cartes ou au tennis de table. Certains font une lessive pendant qu'en cuisine on prépare déjà le repas du soir. 

iT Hot OHi.JPG
IMG_2392.JPG
IMG_2129.JPG
70 06 8 4.JPG
IMG_9978.JPG
IMG_1723.JPG
IMG_2123.JPG
IMG_0998.JPG

VIII/ La reprise

Un coup de sifflet et le temple retrouve toute son agitation. Une petite course plus tard et les élèves sont à nouveau prêts. Cet après-midi, c'est entraînement au maniement du bâton.  L'élève le connaît aussi par cœur, son bâton c'est son meilleur ami. Il sait le faire parler et le faire danser. Sa danse, on l'appelle le Tao, terme signifiant un ensemble de gestes chorégraphiés que chaque élève doit connaître par cœur. Il en existe des centaines dans chaque domaine que l'enfant se doit de connaître et de maîtriser par cœur s’il veut un jour devenir un Shifu. On dit que la perfection n'est atteignable que par la répétition, alors l'enfant répète encore et encore les mêmes gestes, sans cesse, jusqu'à ce que ces gestes soient maîtrisés à la perfection. Sans maîtrise, la puissance n'est rien. Car c'est bien de cela qu'il s'agit dans l'enseignement de cet art martial : La maîtrise de la puissance.

IMG_1260.JPG
IMG_0652.JPG
IMG_0734.JPG
IMG_2881.JPG

IX/ Le dernier effort 


Le soleil du jour commence à descendre dans le ciel. La journée touche bientôt à sa fin. Les enfants prennent leur repas du soir puis effectuent ensuite leur dernier entraînement de la journée : porté de pneus pour certains, exercices acrobatiques et physiques pour d'autres. La lumière brûlante du soleil laisse place à la blancheur de celle des lampadaires du temple. Changement de couleur, mais le décor reste le même, et les gouttes de sueur ont toujours le même goût.

IMG_0882.JPG
IMG_2730.JPG
IMG_1398.JPG

X/ Un éternel recommencement 


21h30. Il fait noir. La nuit tombe à nouveau sur le temple Fawang, le calme va reprendre ses droits le temps d'une nuit. Le sifflet retentit pour la dernière fois de la journée. Un dernier appel, un dernier salut et un à un les jeunes élèves rejoignent leurs dortoirs. Ici, les nuits sont courtes et les journées sont longues. Elles sont faites de souffrances et de sueurs, mais aussi de rires et de sourires. Leurs journées sont bien différentes de celles de beaucoup d'autres enfants à travers le monde, mais ils n'en sont pas moins heureux. Leurs journées ne sont pas toutes faites de souffrances et de sueurs. Les élèves ne s'entraînent jamais l’après-midi des mercredi et samedi. Ces jours-là, les enfants ont même droit à la projection d'un film. Quant au dimanche, c'est repos du matin au soir. A partir de septembre, l'enseignement scolaire reprend. Il n'est certes pas aussi élaboré et performant que celui des écoles publiques et encore moins des écoles privées mais cela permettra quand même aux enfants d'obtenir un travail par la suite. Certains finiront dans l'armée, dans la police ou dans des sociétés de sécurité privée, d'autres dans des emplois plus ordinaires. Quant aux plus téméraires, ils finiront à leur tour par devenir Shifu et feront perdurer cet art ancestral et traditionnel aux générations futures. 

En attendant, le corps fatigué, l'élève retrouve son lit. Il ferme ses yeux et s'endort en silence. Tout comme beaucoup d'enfants à travers le monde, c'est en fermant les yeux que les rêves les plus beaux voient le jour. Alors le temps d'une nuit il s'évade un peu. L'enfant s'endort et le temple avec lui. Demain sera un autre jour, pas si différent du précédent.   

IMG_0249.JPG
IMG_1454.JPG
IMG_0236.JPG
IMG_2240.JPG

Florient Zwein | Photographe | Paris - France | +33630111188 | florient.zwein@hotmail.fr | 2020